Share This Post
Driving a car puts you always at risk for injuries or death.
According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, in 2016 there were 1,130 traffic fatalities and 112,526 injuries on Georgia roads. In 2011, the total number of young drivers under the age of 21 involved in fatal crashes in Georgia was 165. Speed-related fatalities in Georgia in 2011 were only changed up or down by 1% from 2009 to 2011. Except to drive with consideration and safety always in the forefront of your mind, these statistics show how very little can be done to avoid getting killed or injured while driving.
Knowing your responsibilities and rights before and after a car crash can help you prepare for the worst. As a Georgia driver, you are responsible to purchase liability car insurance. The minimum amount of required liability insurance in Georgia is: Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person. For accidents involving 2 deaths, your insurance policy must cover $50,000 in costs and property liability: $25,000 per person.
In Georgia, the failure to carry liability car insurance on your vehicle is a misdemeanor and can result in suspension of your car’s registration making it illegal for you to drive your car. To reinstate your registration, you must pay fines through the Georgia Department of Revenue. The insurance card your insurance provider issues to you must be kept in your vehicle and should be available to you at all times while driving.
Though keep in mind, law enforcement in Georgia does not accept an insurance card as proof you have current paid-up- to-date car insurance coverage. If you’re stopped by a police officer in Georgia, your car insurance status will be checked through the Georgia Electronic Compliance System.