Share This Post
Personal Injury Guidelines for Georgia
If you have been harmed or injured by another person, someone else’s car, by a company’s product, by a doctor, a corporation, a governmental agency, or through any dangerous circumstance caused by someone else’s negligence, do not wait to hire a Personal Injury Attorney.
The laws that govern Georgia’s Statute of Limitations stipulates how much time an individual has to file a personal injury claims. This means after you have been injured you have a limited amount of time to file your personal injury claim with the court.
Depending on the type of personal injury you’ve suffered will determine how long a period of time you have to file your claim.
If your type of claim is for Negligence (you have been injured because of a car accident, or gotten hurt on the job, or slipped and fell, or suffered injuries from any kind of circumstance as a result of someone else’s negligence) Georgia’s Statute of Limitation is 2 years.
If your type of claim is for Assault & Battery, Georgia’s Statute of Limitations is 2 years.
If your type of claim is for Defamation of Character, Georgia’s Statute of Limitations is 1 year.
For all other types of claims, a Personal Injury Attorney is best to advise you on Georgia’s Statute of Limitations.
In some cases, an individual may not be aware of their injuries until after the date of the event. A Personal Injury Attorney will assist you to determine if Georgia’s Statute of Limitations has expired or not.
Before the Statute of Limitations runs out on your claim, and in order to maximize the amount of compensation you receive for your physical and/or psychological injuries, it’s critical to hire a personal injury attorney in Atlanta.